Friday, December 4, 2009

FIFA 2010 World Cup Draw Results

More than 3000 people were present during the FIFA 2010 World Cup draw at the Cape Town International Convention Centre, which creates enthusiasm for Football fans to find out their team opponents in the respective group stage of the month-long tournament comes to an end.

Organizers fielded three Nobel Prize winners including Nelson Mandela while David Beckham and South Africa’s most glamorous export, actress Charlize Theron, helped host the ceremony.

“We feel privileged and humbled that South Africa that has been given the singular honor of being the African host country,” Mandela said in a video message. Totally 32 countries have been sorted into the eight seperate groups that will play in the opening stage match of the World Cup 2010.

Teams in the same group play each other once, with the top two squads in each cluster advancing to the round of 16.

Here are the eight groups for the 2010 World Cup:

Group A: South Africa, Mexico, Uruguay, France

Group B: Argentina, Nigeria, South Korea, Greece

Group C: England, USA, Algeria, Slovenia

Group D: Germany, Australia, Serbia, Ghana

Group E: Netherlands, Denmark, Japan, Cameroon

Group F: Italy, Paraguay, New Zealand, Slovakia

Group G: Brazil, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Portugal

Group H: Spain, Switzerland, Honduras, Chile

No comments:

ss_blog_claim=00ef0f3ce2e7e782238b21ad6bb9bb18 ss_blog_claim=00ef0f3ce2e7e782238b21ad6bb9bb18